This Year’s Format

Posted: May 5, 2012 by jkleiman in discussion
Tags:

Now that we have a boardroom, and a team that actually hangs out together, there has been a lot of passionate discussion at the Awards office. Our goal: to find something to do to keep the community engaged between our annual competitions.

We have come up with a few ideas; some superbly simple, some grotesquely grand, some that we even dared to develop. In the end we were just mad scientists speculating alone together. With no clear winner, we needed a lifeline. We have chosen to ‘ask the audience.’

Should we have monthly mini-competitions? Should we develop a more functional forum? Would you use it? These days we can develop just about any feature for just about any platform so use your imagination and act as if there are no limits.

Post your ideas in the comments. Thank you.

Connect with us on Facebook!

Jonathan Kleiman
@TOBusinessLaw
Personal Injury Lawyer Toronto

Comments
  1. Once a year is good.

  2. Rhonda Callow says:

    I think once a year is good for competitions. As for a forum and whether I would use it, I suppose that would depend on the topics within.

    If I think of any brilliant ideas, I’ll let you know!

    Cheers,

    Rhonda
    @rhondacallow

  3. How about competitions every 2-3 months for the best blog POST, and then keep with the once a year for the actual blog?

  4. I like Shawna Lisa’s idea. best blog post contests — that would be fun, not to mention motivating. I should tell you that I get regular blog traffic from this site throughout the whole year. So thanks.

  5. Do you have a category for Expat Canadian blogs? I’m a Canadian living in Sardinia, Italy and I write a blog about my life here.

  6. CanadianDadBlog says:

    Hmmm, I think you should run a contest for best blog by a Dad from Canada, whose blog is entitled Canadian Dad. What?? There could be other blogs called Canadian Dad!

    I like the idea of a repeating best blog post competition, but you may want to split it into two categories. One for Funny and another for the rest. Funny tends to win most of the time in my experience.

    Cheers!

  7. KayVee says:

    I like Shawna’s idea, every 1/4. One year consists of many blogs and topics. As I am just getting into the blogging scence, and have found one or two favourites, which are subject to expand on various topics – this seems reasonable timeframe to capture within the time period it is relevant to.

  8. pammustard says:

    I agree. Every 3 or 4 months. I like CanadianDad’s idea – one for best post, one for best funny post. Another idea could be to host some small events that are strictly participatory – poetry challenges, flash fiction, photo posts. Not sure if this would be too much work but a great way to be exposed to other Canadian blogs!

  9. peipie says:

    Hi,

    Just wondering what category would a dating blog fit into?

    Thanks!

    – peipie

  10. Running a contest for entries every quarter is a great idea. Also, I think photoblogging has become so huge and should have its own category. Then modifying the arts/crafts one to be more for DIY, crafts and renos.

  11. Reanna says:

    I like the idea of monthly mini-contests – no rules, just submit your favourite post of the month.

    Quarterly/Seasonally, a more structured competition for each category might work.

    For both (or either), why not have an accumulating points total throughout the year with prizes for the top blog in each category at the end of the year? This will keep submissions coming, interest high, and perhaps some spirited debate in the forum.

  12. KARMATRIX says:

    It may be a good idea to catergorize different blog topics by genre. Once every 3 months of the year, you can have contest on issues that revolve around: Environment/Community, Technology, Social/Entertainmentt and Current events. Stray away from topics that involve politics or religion, they are best left to the enthusiast and preachers. One annual contest reflecting all genres can summarize and bring light to issues that dominate.

  13. Sara says:

    I like the monthly mini-competitions idea! I might stay motivated to keep on blogging! (instead of “when I get around to it!”

  14. Sara Jay says:

    We should have the winners receive plaques, or free standing awards and even hold a mini ceremony at a really chic and cool venue in toronto and invite local bloggers and press from all over the city to discuss social media, blogging, and just to socialize. I’m sure much of this could be arranged through some type of sponsorship.

  15. I like the idea of a plaque or something but as there is no money attached to these awards the cost would be huge. I wonder if there could be an option to recieve a plaque but the winner would have to give a donation to cover the cost. I’m sure many would. I, too, would love the idea of some kind of gathering – mostly just to meet other bloggers.

Leave a Reply

