Best New Blog of 2008

Posted: December 17, 2008 by John Klein in results
Tags:

As selected by Canadian Blog Award voters, here are the rankings for:

Best New Blog

1. ProWomanProLife with 596 votes (59.07%)
bestnewblog-1st-150w08

2. Zucket 161 (15.96%)
bestnewblog-2nd-150w08

3. XUP with 93 votes (9.22%)
bestnewblog-3rd-150w08

4. Alberta: Get Rich or Die Trying with 92 votes (9.12%)

5. NextGen Player with 67 votes (6.64%)

Total votes: 1009

The New Blog category is a good one to surf through because you never know what you’re going to find. Last year’s winner was a Liblogger from Guelph, and this year’s blog that brought in the most votes is a group blog against abortion. There were a high number of votes for each of the finalists, but I feel I must point out that AGRDT was 1 vote shy of a tie for 3rd place!

Comments
  1. […] won the Best New Blog category at the Canadian Blog […]

  2. fern hill says:

    Lordluvaduck. Can you say ‘freep’?

    Go read the drivel at ProWomanProLife and ask yourself ‘Is this mainstream Canadian thinking, let alone the ‘best’ of anything?’

  3. L-girl says:

    This win completely invalidates the entire category. You’d do better not to have a feminist blog category, if you’re going to let anti-feminist blogs compete. You might as well have Neo-Nazi bloggers competing in the Equality For All awards.

  4. L-girl says:

    Oh sh*t, sorry, I thought this was the Best Feminist Blog category. Well, my comment applies there!

  5. saskboy says:

    Fern Hill, and L-Girl. Would you mind if I remove your comments? I don’t think it’s appropriate that you spread poor sportsmanship throughout the CBAs, when we’ve been quite generous by letting people blow a gasket in other areas on the site.

  6. L-girl says:

    It’s your blog, you have to do as you see fit.

    I leave one critical comment and I’m “spreading poor sportsmanship throughout the CBAs”?? Yeah, that’s quite generous.

  7. saskboy says:

    Take a step back and think how a passer-by would gauge your comment?

  8. L-girl says:

    Saskboy, I don’t comment without regard to what I’m writing and how it may be perceived. I stand by what I said. If you feel it’s inappropriate, then you’ll remove it.

    I take exception to the idea that I am “spreading poor sportsmanship throughout the CBAs,” because (a) this is the first and only negative comment I’ve left, and (b) I don’t think sportsmanship has anything to do with this.

    But it’s not my blog, I don’t make the rules. As I said, it’s your blog, and you’ll do as you see fit, same as I do on my own blog.

  9. L-girl says:

    And by the way, in case you thought I was being sarcastic, I really did think I was commenting on the Best Feminist Blog category, and didn’t realize until after my comment appeared that this was a different category. Hence my second post.

Leave a Reply

