Voting Ends, Results To Follow

Posted: December 7, 2008 by Adrian MacNair in results

I know you are all anxious to find out who won the awards, and for that matter so are we! As we get the results from the polls in and create the awards and videos and announcements, this will take a little more time. We roughly expect to begin announcing four winners a day each day until they are finished. This is expected to begin in two days time. So while we know you’ve been patient, please do wait a few more days for us to organize the results.

In the meantime, thanks to all who voted and who promoted the 2008 Canadian Blog Awards. For those who missed out this time around, remember us for next year and vote or nominate for your favorite blog then.

Comments
  1. Hi folks,

    Just want to thank you for putting this on.

    Have seen some negative comments here and there about organization and my comment to those commenters would be that if they think they can do it better, go for it.

    As it stands it’s a ton of work and given that I don’t seen any monetization here, it’s something you folks are doing on your own dime and time and I for one appreciate it.

    Warm Regards,
    Yoni (author of Best Health Blog Nominee Weighty Matters)

  2. Belinda says:

    Thanks, this has been so much fun. Bringing together such a diverse group of Canadian bloggers is a great achievement. You have really created community! Thank you for doing this and for all the hard work that goes into it. We do appreciate the small group of fellow bloggers that took on this huge task.

  3. L-girl says:

    You’ve done a great job, as always.

    “Have seen some negative comments here…”

    There is always room for listening, tweaking, improving. Unless the comments have been disrespectful, I would hope that feedback from bloggers is welcome. That feedback loop is part of what blogging is all about.

    If we make suggestions, it doesn’t mean we’re not aware of how much time and effort goes into creating this.

    Thanks for all your time and hard work!

  4. Julie Wilson says:

    Will you post a schedule of which categories will be announced when?

    Many thanks!

  5. Thanks for all of your work in this! Much appreciated!

  6. megan says:

    Great work as usual. Just so you know, it seems that the Best Blog Category is still open. I blame the conservatives!

  7. I echo the thank you’s. This is such a tremendous way of getting information out about blogs. I’ve discovered several others and I know that my blog has been visited my those made curious by the awards. And in essense, it’s about readership … Dave

  8. balbulican says:

    Great work as usual, guys, and once again I met some wonderful new blogs.

    I want to repeat a suggestion I made last year halfway through the announcements. Releasing the winners in batches is an excellent idea. You will maximize the impact, the attention, and your readers’ enjoyment if you set a schedule that you know you can meet, and stick to it. Last year I think you began to release the winners as soon as you had a cluster, but the gap between releases was uncertain, and got a bit frustrating. Even if it means delaying the announcements, wait until you have a firm schedule, and follow it.

  9. Meg says:

    As someone who actually gets bored while brushing my teeth, the batch release thing totally drives me bonkers, but I understand why you do it.:) But an absolute yes to a consistent schedule, advertised in advance.

    Does PollDaddy require you to do extra work? I thought they just tabulated results?

  10. saskboy says:

    It’s mostly the videos, graphical buttons, and result organization that takes the extra time Meg. I hadn’t anticipated a coalition government event that took up most of my time last week, and on top of that I got sick too. We’ll have a schedule, and will attempt to stick to it, as much as human factors allow us to.

  11. L-girl says:

    Hope you’re feeling better! The events of last week threw us all off schedule, eh? Good luck with the final push.

  12. Mad says:

    Thanks for organizing. I know how hard that kind of work can be.

  13. Thanks, y’all, for doing this – it’s a real service to our young little community.

  14. Rob says:

    Cheers, guys.

    Thanks for your hard work on getting word out about how great we all are.🙂 I’ve found some great blogs, and some cool link partners too.

    I appreciate your work, and look forward to seeing the results.

    Cheers!

  15. bill says:

    Just post a list of the winners. Nobody cares about the videos or any of that other stuff.

    Whenever there’s a contest, people want to know who won. Why is this hard?

    I’m sorry you have a cold, but come on. Post a list of winners.

  16. saskboy says:

    More are coming soon Bill. Sorry that this is driving you crazy. We aren’t going to make a video for everything, and we’ll get them all released before Christmas eve one way or another.

  17. bill says:

    Just publish the list of winners. How hard is that?

  18. Nancy says:

    We need to know who won the awards! We do not need videos. How many bloggers want to be in videos anyway?

  19. what they said says:

    I appreciate the efforts of the volunteers behind the awards, but I have to echo some of the sentiments posted here. If the numbers are automatically tabulated, simply 1st, 2nd, and 3rd is enough. No need for full transparency, in my opinion. A number of finalists didn’t know they were nominated. It’s salt in the wound to see them come up with a small fraction of the votes. Simple – 1, 2, 3. Take advantage of the momentum and curiosity before it’s lost.

    Thanks for listening.

  20. NuncScio says:

    I think the question of momentum is particularly important here…I have endless gratitude for the folks doing all the legwork here, but if I’m in a category that gets announced on Christmas Eve, I may well have been not nominated at all. After next week, blog readership will drop off as people turn away from their computers for holiday merrymaking.

    We need to expedite the process…do you guys need help? I can volunteer some time if need be. Get in touch.

  21. saskboy says:

    “Just publish the list of winners. How hard is that?

    If they want a 2008 graphical button to go with their award, some will have to hold on a couple more days. There are blog awards in the States that make winners wait weeks, and we are going to have all the winners published WELL BEFORE Christmas eve. In my Tylenol stupor, I seem to have confused the current date, and thought that it was Dec. 19, when in reality we can have the awards all announced by Dec. 16th (not 23rd).

    So far this isn’t the schedule I was aiming for, and sorry we didn’t publish it. We’ll take steps to improve the schedule so this doesn’t happen next year if one of us gets sick.

  22. peter says:

    I agree with the comments above, the results are in so just post them already. No need for videos and people can wait for the badges.

    Anyhow, if you want to get a sense of whether or not your blog won, you can check out the Canadian Blog Awards profile on Poll Daddy:

    http://answers.polldaddy.com/user/94387/

    It’ll tell you how many votes were cast in your category.

  23. saskboy says:

    I am sorry about the delay in releasing, and leaving people without a schedule. So I’ve posted the schedule here:
    https://cdnba.wordpress.com/2008/12/09/results-schedule200/

Leave a Reply

